The Bane of Summer

The Bane of Summer

Last Friday, I took my sister to White Water Bay. We were there for four hours, and I put sunscreen on twice, but I still came home red and sore. I’m incredibly white, and I don’t get sun very often, so I do burn easy. On top of that, I was using the crappy aerosol sunscreen. That stuff doesn’t seem to help much. I had so much fun, but I was in pain.

When I got home, the first thing I did was google sunburn relief. There were lots of tips, the most prominent being aloe vera, lotion, apple cider vinegar, and not getting burned in the first place (duh).

First, I slathered my shoulders in my Helping Hands lotion from Lush. It has chamomile, honey, lavender, shea butter, and cocoa butter. It helped a little, but I decided that stacking remedies would likely help even more.

The next thing I tried was apple cider vinegar. It’s supposed to help balance the PH of your skin, which I suppose is thrown off by getting the crap burned out of it. I dabbed it on with a washcloth. I don’t know that it worked. It mostly made me smell like a salad.

The internet also suggests ibuprofen. I took two in the morning after breakfast. After trying all of these random remedies, I realized something. No, it was not to avoid getting burned. That’s one of those things that you know, but have trouble putting into practice. It’s one of the few things that actually happens accidentally. I reapplied. I REAPPLIED. Anyways, what I learned was piling on remedies makes it harder to tell what’s working and what isn’t.

Finally, I went to the store and bought an after burn cream. There were a few to choose from, so after some careful consideration I picked the one with the highest concentration of lidocaine. (It also had the simplest list of ingredients, so it was a win-win.) It smells like spearmint, and my feeling of the sun licking my skin like a happy dog has finally begun to subside. With a little more patience and a little less burn, I’m sure one of those lovely home remedies would’ve helped. Apple cider vinegar has helped in the past. However, there’s nothing like a little lidocaine to make it feasible to lean back against a chair again.

Through all this, I also learned that I need to have aloe vera in my house all the time. I’ll be getting on that shortly.

So how do you handle the bane of summer? Any tips to help me next time?

Leave a Reply

